Posted in Fiction, Uncategorized

We Will Never, Ever, Can be Together

A Fanfiction by Originica

Genre: (sad) romance
Word Count: 1,025

Summary: Even though they love each other, she just knows that he isn’t for her.

Special thanks to Himeko Sakura and Michiko Yuuta

~Happy Reading~


It’s already past 5, and unusually Katagiri Sakura is still waiting for her driver to pick her up. She begins to regret the fact that she rejected her friend’s offer to ride her home, and she didn’t borrow one of her teacher’s phone to call her parent (since she didn’t remember her driver’s number), because all of the teacher’s gone home already. Because of the school rules, Sakura never brings her phone to school.

Her watch shows 5.30, and she shifted impatiently on her seat. The sky is getting darker, and the wind is quite chilly. It’s going to rain pretty soon, she thought, I really want to go home now.

Footsteps can be heard from the hallway, getting louder on each step. Sakura immediately turned, only to see a particular dark-haired boy strolling to her direction. He’s surprised a bit as he notices her. “Katagiri? It’s rare to see you this late,” he asks.

“It is,” she mumbled doubtfully as she gazes back to the outside. Haruhito sat beside her, and knowing what she needed, took out his phone from his pocket and brought it to her. “Here, call your parents.” She stares at his phone for a while, feeling between annoyance and confusion. “You bring your phone the school?” she asks in a rising tone. “…yes? Is something wrong?”

“Wrong? It’s against the rules.” He sneers at her as she sighed. “I don’t take it out while I’m still in school. Besides, no one cares. And it’s fine if you don’t want to use it,” he held out his phone once again, and after eyed him for a while, she took it and hurriedly typed a number.

“Yes… Father? I’m still in school right now… Oh, it’s my friends. What? Ah, I see. No, it’s fine, really. It’s just…”

Sakura looks up to the sky worriedly.

“Okay, father, I understand. Yes, love you too. See you later.”

She ends the call and handles the phone back to the boy. “Thank you,” she said. He just nodded and put back his phone to his pocket, “So, what happened?”

“Traffic jam. Not going to make it here in another hour. I can wait here, or take the bus.”

“The bus? But you still have to walk a bit far from here. Plus, it’s going to rain very soon.”

“That’s why I have to go. Now.”  With that, Sakura rushes to the school gate, but Haruhito stops her at her tracks. “I’ll walk you home.” he said calmly.

“No need. I’m fine by myself,” she refuses flatly.

“No, it’s raining. I got an umbrella here, and my house is in the same direction as yours.”
Knowing how stubborn Aose Haruhito is, Sakura doesn’t stand any chance to reject his offer.


“Don’t tell me you still have your hopes up for being my lover,” she bitterly said.

“Actually I do,” he thinks for a while, “but I won’t force you to love me back if you don’t want to.”

She sighed mentally in relief.

“Although, can I get your -honest- reason?”

The rain is getting heavier, though just for a bit. She cursed mentally.

You deserve someone far better than me.

“No, not now, but you’ll know pretty soon,” she paused. “Still, we will never be more than just friends.”

Sighing, Haruhito knows that Sakura will keep rejecting him. The way she rejects him even made he wondered if she has any heart.


“No.”

Silence.

“I’ve given my answer. I’ll take my leave if you don’t have anything left to say.”

He froze in his place, and snapped back into reality when she turned in her heels.

“W-wait!” He reaches out, “Why are you so sure-“

“Why?” She turned her head to look at him. “You’re loud, annoying, like to tease the others, go against rules and teachers, and your hair is dyed.”

Ouch.

“Then I’ll do anything you want!” he said without thinking. “As long as it’s beyond my capabilities, I’ll do anything!”

She pursed her lips. “Then stay away from my life.”

And she left without another word, leaving him speechless.


They sat in the bus silently. No more words spoken from either one of them.
Until the bus stopped for the 3rd time.

“Here, bring this with you for now.” Haruhito stands as he holds out his umbrella to Sakura.

What? She eyed the umbrella confusedly. “But-“

“My stop is here. It doesn’t seem like you want to walk with me, but I’d still insist you to take the umbrella. Don’t worry, my house isn’t far from here and the rain isn’t that big.”

She stayed silent for a while. “…no.”

“…uh, what?”

“My house isn’t far from the next stop. So if you don’t mind and if you want, you can walk me home.”

He’s a bit taken aback by her seriousness. Smiling, he sits back beside her as Sakura gives back his umbrella.

At least she’s not as rude as she used to be, he thought. He absent-mindedly took out his phone and glanced at the blank screen, then averted his gaze to the girl sitting beside him. Her bangs are covering her eyes, causing him to be unable to guess her mood right now.

The loud speaker snapped both of them back to the reality, and Sakura stands up without a word. “Let’s go,” both of them got out of the bus and walked to Sakura’s home. The rest of the walk was very silent.

Right in front of her house, she turns to him for a while.

“Thank you for today,” she smiles sadly, “and I’m sorry.”


“Who was that, sweetheart? I think I’ve never seen you walking with a boy before.”
Her mother eyed her suspiciously.
“He walked me home, mother.”
She tried to kill her own feelings for him.
“Oh, really? Anyway, you didn’t forget about our appointment with your fiancee, right?”
And she thought she did.
“Yes, mother. And we’re just acquaintance, no need to worry.”
But deep inside, she really wants to cry.
“I see. Good then, you should take a rest now.”
Because she still loves him, to the point she can’t change it anymore.

Author:

Cyber name: Hinagiku Sumeragi

Leave a Reply

